Home Governments Kenya: Ministries related to Food Security and their ministers

Kenya: Ministries related to Food Security and their ministers


Earlier in the year, the president of the Republic of Kenya, His Excellency Uhuru Kenyatta named the entire list of his list of government ministries in Kenya and their Cabinet Secretaries (CS) and Principal Secretaries (PS).

This exercise saw a number of former Cabinet secretaries retain their seats, reshuffled or appointed in positions of ambassadorship. President Uhuru Kenyatta pledged to dedicate his final term to achieving the “The Big Four Pillars”: Food security, Affordable Housing, Manufacturing and Affordable Healthcare for all.

The following is a list of current ministries in Kenya which incorporate Cabinet Secretaries , Principal Secretaries (PS), Chief Administrative Secretaries (CAS) related to Food Security starting with the ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation to other ministries

Ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation
  • Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Mwangi Kiunjuri
  • Chief Administrative Secretary: Dr Andrew K Tuimur
  • Principal Secretary: Harry Kimutai (Livestock)
  • Principal Secretary: Mr. Richard Lesiyampe (Crop Development)
  • Principal Secretary: Hamadi Boga (Agriculture Research)
  • Principal Secretary: (Fisheries)
  • Principal Secretary: Prof. Fred K. Sigor (Irrigation)
Ministry of Lands
  • Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Farida Karoney
  • Chief Administrative Secretary: Gideon Mung’aro
  • Principal Secretary: Nicholas Muraguri
Ministry of Water and Sanitation
  • Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Simon Chelugui
  • Chief Administrative Secretary: Winnie Guchu
  • Principal Secretary: Susan Komen
Ministry of Environment and Forestry
  • Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Keriako Tobiko
  • Chief Administrative Secretary: Mohamed Ibrahim Elmi
  • Principal Secretary: Mr. Charles Sunkuli
Ministry of Industrialization and Enterprise Development
  • Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Adan Abdulla, Mohamed
  • Principal Secretary: Betty Maina (Industrialization)
  • Principal Secretary: (Enterprise Development)
Ministry of Public Service, Youth & Gender Affairs
  • Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Prof. Margaret Kobia
  • Chief Administrative Secretary: Rachel Shebesh
  • Principal Secretary: Ms. Lilian Omollo (Public Service & Youth)
  • Principal Secretary: Safina Kwekwe (Gender Affairs)