Home Scholarships RUFORUM and Mastercard announces the scholarship for recipients of the 2018-2019 academic...

RUFORUM and Mastercard announces the scholarship for recipients of the 2018-2019 academic year


The Regional Universities Forum for Capacity Building in Agriculture (RUFORUM), is pleased to announce the Second cohort of the [email protected] scholarship recipients for the 2018-2019 academic year.

Since July 2016, RUFORUM, in partnership with MasterCard Foundation, Gulu University and Egerton University are implementing an eight year programme aimed at transforming African agricultural universities and their graduates to better respond to development challenges through enhanced application of science, technology, business and innovation for rural agricultural transformation. This eight year Project will support the training of 220 (110 undergraduate and 110 postgraduate) economically disadvantaged students from across Africa. The Programme further provides opportunities for transformative action research using the RUFORUM Community Action Research Programme (CARP+) to enhance university-led community impact and the RUFORUM Agricultural Enterprises Challenge Program (RECAP), for developing a critical mass of young business leaders by providing a supporting environment.

This 2018 Call for scholarships awarded a total of sixty (60) scholarships to applicants from 13 African countries (Benin, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Somalia, South Sudan, Togo, Uganda and Zimbabwe) and attracted 1,036 applicants from 24 African countries. After a rigorous three stage selection process involving pre-admission into the university, shortlisting for scholarship assessment and home validation visits, the RUFORUM Technical Committee made the final selection during its meeting convened on 6th June 2018 at the RUFORUM Secretariat. Of the 60 scholarships awarded, 35 were for females, accounting for 58% of the awardees.

RUFORUM thanks all applicants and congratulates the 60 scholarship recipients.

The full list of the selected beneficiaries/awardees can be downloaded here